Creating Courses with Moodle: 6. Understanding Course Enrollments

You are here:
< Back

Student enrollments and unenrollments happen automatically, based upon the Bionic registration system.

Any Haverford or Bryn Mawr student should appear in your course roster within 15 minutes of when that student registers on Bionic.

Swarthmore students may take a few days to appear in your roster, because the Registrar needs to first add them into our system. Swarthmore users can request a Moodle account via our web form, if they need access before they are enrolled via the usual automated system.

You can use Moodle to get a photo roster of your course.  You may also grant course viewing, editing, or grading privileges to members of the tri-college community.

WARNING: Even though students are enrolled in your courses, students will ONLY SEE YOUR COURSE if you make your course visible via the Settings menu.

Automated Enrollments/Unenrollments

Your Moodle course roster will be generated from our BIONIC registration system and automatically updated every 15 minutes. Your Moodle course roster should match your official roster. You are not able to change the enrollments sent from the BIONIC system.

Enrollment list

You can find out who is in your course by looking at the participant list located in the People menu, as well as the Navigation menu. Click the participants link for a list of students enrolled in your course.

illustration of People block

This lists your students, as well as other instructors and any AAs or other support staff that have access to the course. Most students will have photos–although some students may opt out of posting a photo. (Learn more about Moodle photos and Photo Rosters.)

 illustration of Moodle participant list

Within the participant list, you have several options for finding and viewing those enrolled in your class. These options are marked on the illustration above as follows:

  1. Select just those with the name or user role you want. For example, to see only those students officially enrolled in your class, from the drop down menu, select “Register Student
  2. You can narrow down the list, by selecting the first letter of the first or last name.
  3. You can sort according to First name (as illustrated above), Last name , Email addressGroups, or Last access to course.

Student Access to Courses

Moodle assigns privileges according to Moodle roles. Students sent from the BIONIC system are given a Moodle role called registered student. (We’ll talk more about roles shortly.) If you do not see students in your roster, you will need to follow up directly with the students or the Registrar to have the problem resolved in the BIONIC database.

As explained earlier, you must Make your Course Visible to Students before students will see your course site.

There are some quick ways to see if a course is already visible or available to students.  Courses that are not available to students are in a dimmed text font. Your courses appear in several locations: on your home page, in your navigation menu, and in your profile.

Adding/Removing Course Access

When students add or drop courses via the BIONIC registration system, they are almost immediately enrolled or unenrolled in your Moodle site. You can see your roster via the participants list–including photos (small or large sized).

So, what about when the participant list differs from the students that are sitting in your course? During the drop/add period there is–by default–guest access to your course site. In most cases, this will provide sufficient access for students until they officially register for your  course. If you give online assignments, discussions, quizzes, or other Moodle activities — as opposed to the readings, web sites, and similar resources discussed Adding Course Content — during the first couple of weeks of class, contact the ProDesk for help making your site available to students that are not yet formally enrolled.

Moodle will let you add or drop “auditing students” to your course via the enroll user tab. However, students coming from the BIONIC system are enrolled as “registered students”. Registered students and auditing students are very similar in terms of their access privileges. However, you cannot change “registered students” yourself; changes to students with the “registered student” role must be done via the registrar and the BIONIC system.

To add or remove “auditing students” from your course site:

  1. Open the Participant list using the People block or the Navigation drawer.
    illustration of People block
  2. Click the enroll user button.
    illustration of Moodle enroll user button
  3. Find the and select people you wish to enroll. Assign the appropriate role/privileges.
    illustration of window for select and enrolling users
  4. By default, any user you enroll will be given the “auditing student” role. If you want to assign a different role, such the “TA” role, change the role select before finding the person to whom you are giving that role. The available roles, and their associated privileges, are listed at the bottom of this page.
    illustration of selecting user role/priviledges
  5. You can select one or more users at a time. To find a user, just enter a name or email address. It works best to enter just part of a first name or last name. Moodle will find only names containing the exact character string you type, and people’s names might be listed slightly differently than expected. In the illustration below, we searched for “John” and found many name matches. One “John” is selected, and we are about to select another.
    Illustration of matches to enroll "John"
  6. Once you have enrolled the people you want, click the enroll user button.
  7. You will now see your newly enrolled users in your participant list. From here, you can assign them a different role (pencil icon, illustrated below as “1′), change details of their enrollment (gear settings icon, illustrated below as “2”), or delete them altogether (trash icon, also illustrated below as “2”).
    illustration of newly enrolled users, and addition user edit options
    Note: A user may be enrolled, but have no assigned role. That user will be able to see the course, but will not be able to participate in forums, submit assignments, or participate in other course activities.

Enable Self Enrollment

If desired, you can let users self enroll into your course as auditing students. By default, self enrollments expire after 14 days and the self enrolled user will be dropped from your Moodle participant list. To enable self enrollment:

  1. Open the Participant list using the People block or the Navigation drawer.
    illustration of People block
  2. Select the gear setting drop-down menu in the upper rightThen select Enrollment methods.
    illustration of moodle enrollment methods
  3. You will get another menu with enrollment options. Enable self-enable self-enrollments by clicking to toggle the eye icon to show.
    Illustration of where to toggle self-enrollment on

 

What Types of Access Rights Can you Assign? Moodle Access Roles

The table below explains the Moodle roles may be assigned using the method described above.

Teacher Teachers can do anything within a course, including changing the activities and grading students.
Non-editing teacher Non-editing teachers can teach in courses and grade students, but may not alter activities.
Course Builder Similar to teacher role, but no access to grades. Those with the Teacher role can assign this role. Teachers can assign someone a Grader role, on top of the Course Builder role, to allow grading and content editing.
Grader Allows grading, but no other special access. Those with the Teacher role can assign this role. Teachers can assign someone a Course Builder role, in addition to the Grader role, to allow grading and content editing.
TA The TA role has similar privileges to registered student, but does not show up in the grade book. Those with the Teacher or Course Builder role can assign this role. Teachers who want to give TAs extra privileges, can add the the roles of Course Builder and/or Grader.
Registered Student Registered students sent via the automated registration system. Such students are formally registered for your course and cannot be manually added or deleted.
Auditing Student Auditing Students have the same Moodle course privileges as Registered Students, but may not be formally registered for your course. Teachers and Course Builders can add and removed auditing students in courses.
Guest Guests have minimal privileges and usually can not enter text anywhere.
Unlimited test time Can be layered on top of student roles to allow unlimited time for tests. Teachers and Course Builders can add and removed Unlimited test time rights in courses.

 

Tags:
css.php